Navy

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• I am NOT a navy expert. I don't build big fleets and see out naval battles.

I try to keep my eye on the prize, which is provinces. Navy can't take or hold ground, so I don't want the bulk of my oil production/consumption tied up in ships.

I pick one ship and build it. Usually either subs or destroyers. I like the speed of destroyers to react where needed, and I can build a lot of them cheaply and quickly at any level 1 naval base. So if needed I can produce a dozen or two of them in a day late game. Subs can also do much the same things as destroyers, with the added bonus of covert spying on enemy coastlines. If I have an ally building subs, I will instead research destroyers.

Picking one ship, either subs or destroyers, and keeping the research current on it is a lot easier than building a balanced navy.

In some cases I build carriers to safely transport planes across the ocean. Usually I don't want to wait for day 24 and tactical bomber level 4 research to complete before crossing the ocean, so it is often nearly pointless. If an ally is building carriers I would prefer to buy a couple from them if needed.

Now if your enemy is building battleships and amassing a large navy and you need to take it on head to head, well I still have decent luck usually with a large number of destroyers. Run several groups close together and hammer the enemy groups, then move on to the next. Similar to the way I use artillery.
      War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin keep out of the way til you can. - Winston Churchill

VorlonFCW
      Retired from Bytro staff as of November 30, 2020.

>>> Click Here to submit a bug report or support ticket <<<