Indefinite Patrolling?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Indefinite Patrolling?

Hello Everyone,

First let me say that I'm new to the game and enjoying it. It plays well but I'm troubled but some of the logic. As the title suggests, I don't understand the logic behind:
      • Flying a group of aircraft out to the limit of their range
      • Circling for as long as you'd like over a target (I've seen no indication that they can't circle forever...)
      • Making one last attack run if they choose
      • Then still be able to get back to base without falling out of the sky
      • And all this time...take almost zero damage from any AA positioned within their patrol area
      I may be new to "this" game, but certainly no new to war.

I call BS.

I still enjoy the game and will most likely keep playing, just think this should be changed to be more realistic.

Thanks,
      B
    • I believe they certainly will take damage from AA units if they are present in the patrol area (provided you are at war with the province you are patrolling). If this is not the case, it is news to me and is definitely something that should be changed because any enemy aircraft should take significant damage from AA.
    • All units in this game are constantly supplied with fuel and ammunition (it's not a simulation, but more like a board game) -- only planes on direct attack have to refuel.

But planes on patrol only attack with 25% of their strength -- so calculated are only 1/4 planes at the target, the other 3/4 are on outwards or return flight or refueling. (the air defense of the attacked ground units is also reduced to 25%.)