Suggestion: combined arms

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Suggestion: combined arms

Though admittedly I am very new to this game and have had little chance to test out its unit balance, the more I look at the stats, the more it looks to me as though tanks and armoured cars are very overpowered in this game.

Firstly, tanks and ACs (collectively known as armoured fighting vehicles, or AFVs) are comparatively cheap to build and maintain - if I had the factories in my current game, I could spawn nearly twice the number of medium tank units than of infantry units, because of the infantry manpower cap. On top of which, the tank units do not have a manpower upkeep. So the game appears to heavily favour the production of AFVs by comparison with infantry (which is, incidentally, a total reversal of the historical situation regarding these arms).

Secondly, looking at the actual combat stats, AFVs appear to have a massive advantage over infantry. A level 2 infantry unit has a defense of only 1.5 against an AFV, while a level 1 medium tank has an attack of 4.0 when attacking infantry - 6 if on open terrain! In other words, tanks attack infantry at odds of between 2.66 to one and 4 to 1, depending on terrain. The only terrain in which they fight on a more or less equal basis is if the infantry unit is in a city province. The odds when infantry attack tanks are even worse for infantry. And as if all that were not enough, AFVs also have a lot more hit points!

To put it another way, infantry look pretty useless in this game. They are hard to build, and only effective against other infantry. Why bother building them at all?