Important Lessons for New Players (That I Learned The Hard Way)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Important Lessons for New Players (That I Learned The Hard Way)

Now this doesn't and shouldn't apply to all of us, but a lot of us veteran players have made some major mistakes in games. In a way, we veterans exist to tell new players what we did wrong, and how to overcome those mistakes. I've been playing Call of War for just over 3 years, and in that time, I watched this game change a great deal - and my playstyle with it.

So today, instead of writing a guide for one specific country, here instead is a universal guide for new players, who desperately need at least some semblance of direction. I didn't learn any of this from guides: I learned the old fashioned way, trial and error.

Never, ever underestimate the cost. Especially now, there is no such thing as a "cheap" unit or a throwaway army. Every single unit counts. Every resource is precious. In 1.0, I would struggle to have less than 100k steel on hand in almost any of my games. Now, in 1.5, I can barely keep any of my resources - to include money - above 10k. Your resources will rapidly go down the drain, and you need to understand that early on. Every decision counts. You need to decide right away what kind of strategy you want to take, and build according to that strategy, not somebody else's.