[AAR] 1939 Japanese World Conquest

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• [AAR] 1939 Japanese World Conquest

This is my first attempt at an after action report. The idea is to give a general report on my play experience here for educational, and hopefully, entertainment purposes. I didn't take enough screenshots along the way so I may have to gloss over some of the details. Without further ado...

Starting the game Japan has a great navy: 6 battleships, 3 carriers, 3 submarines, 11 cruisers and 13 destroyers (don't quote me on this, it's close). The army is small, but the technology level is slightly better than your nearest neighbors. I immediately begin consolidating my naval forces in the seas around Japan and moving island based forces around. In most cases I want to bring those garrisons in to use in offensive operations but leave a few infantry on Saipan and Ogasawara to maintain visibility and some defense. Most likely they'll get one shot by support forces if a war breaks out but it gives you defense against the blind sailor type attacks AI, and sometimes players, utilize.

I also start building industry immediately everywhere but Tokyo and start research on infantry and artillery.

Early in the game I begin evaluating the opposition and I am not impressed by what I find. I'll attempt to avoid outing anyone and just evaluate statistics of nations of most immediate interest:

United States

United Kingdom

China

Soviet Union

France

Australia

Manchuko
    • Early game diplomacy is pretty standard, lots of poorly written trash talk and players that are "wayyyy" better than their stats imply because they had accounts before that were level 90 etc. For some reason Xingjiang declares war on every country, few cared.