History Debate Thread

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• History Debate Thread

A week or so ago, I created a thread. It asked the simple question of who the greatest general of all time was. That thread blew up. Because we are a bunch of history nerds, I think that asking history questions and having debates over them would be cool. (Even though I'm a very amateur historian. I only got into history last September.) So, I created this thread for people to debate on history questions. There will always be two questions being asked. One will be open ended, and one will be with a few choices. . Every week, I will change the questions.

Open Ended: What was the biggest mistake in military history?

Multiple Choice: Were the Romans or the Greeks better? This question is from a military, stability, and cultural standpoint.
      WHOS GONNA CARRY THE BOATS?
      WHOS GONNA CARRY THE LOGS?
      THEY DON'T KNOW YOU SON!

- David Goggins

The post was edited 1 time, last by BrutusTrump ().

• BrutusTrump wrote:

Open Ended: What was the biggest mistake in military history?

Multiple Choice: Were the Romans or the Greeks better?
      Open Ended: Not believing the intelligence from the scout pilots that spotted the German army in the Ardennes. They were vulnerable there and would have been destroyed in an artillery and air bombardement. WWII could have been stopped right there and then. Instead millions of lives were destroyed.

Romans: they conquered the Greeks right ;) Greece was a mixture of independend city states. As they had a democracy as political system there was always a large discussion before the army would act. No-one wanted one city or general getting too powerful. They were divided. As Julius Ceasar said: "Divide and conquer" That still counts today.
      BMfox
      EN Community Support | Bytro Gmbh

Check out my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/BMfoxCallofWar