Unit recovery

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Unit recovery

Full disclosure, I’m relatively new to the game and only have six games under my belt.

One of the aspects of this game that took me a game or two to wrap my head around was how slow units heal. 15% of the damage taken is not significant and it takes forever to have a badly damaged unit to recover. Now I know you can always group them with healthy units but then you’re just bringing them down.

I suggest allowing players to move units back to a city with a tank plant, for example, and allow for the unit to be recovered to full strength. This would be challenging for slower moving units that are away from their industrial center. After all you can repair the building if it’s damaged.

Another suggestion on the same topic would be to allow for the units to reform (not sure if that’s the best word). Essentially disband some units and fold the survivors into similar units. For example, if you had two infantry units that were reduced to half strength you could simply turn them into one unit at full strength.

This option may not make sense with naval units. Two half’s of an infantry regiment can easily make a whole, but to damaged battleships don’t make a whole ship.

This could be an option that takes time to preform in game, similar to upgrading. I would recommend the amount of time it takes depends on the number to units you are disbanding and the number of units you are folding the survivors into.

This was done in war periodically when units too heavy losses.

Thoughts?