Ranking system encourages inactivity

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• Ranking system encourages inactivity

When you build things in a game you get some experience towards rank. This encourages people to spam join games and do nothing but build things in a lot of games just to increase their rank. The result is that the majority of games end up being boring with several players doing nothing but building things.
    • I have to say that I'm not surprised that this was ignored. I've been playing since 2015, off and on, and it's always been like this. Why did I bother?

The optimists among us might hope that, one day, Bytro will realize that this impacts their bottom line. Inactive builders -- and inactives in general -- don't use gold, and they probably drive away potential customers when they make 9 out of 10 games boring. I'm not an optimist.
    • soymex wrote:

Really? Took me a while to figure out how rank was achieved... but is it only limited to economic aspects?
      There's two ranks: the economic and the military one. You can score points in each and those are summed into a general score and ordered into a rank. Usually, the military score is several times higher than the economic score.

Economic score is about constructing buildings in your cities.
      I forgot what military score was about exactly, but it was equally irrelevant.

I don't think this is the source of the inactivity problem though, there's just too much free games around and people jump in and then forget about them. It is not just a problem for this game, it happens all around the net.
      When the fake daddies are curtailed, we have failed. When their roller coaster tolerance is obliterated, their education funds are taken by Kazakhstani phishers, and their candy bars distributed between the Botswana youth gangs, we have succeeded.
      - BIG DADDY.
    • K.Rokossovski wrote: