"distance to capital" listed in "morale" popup

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

• "distance to capital" listed in "morale" popup

As listed in the "morale" popup, does the "distance to capital" automatically adjust for the construction of infrastructure between a given province and the capital, or does it simply disregard infrastructure? If it automatically adjusts "distance to capital" for infrastructure for the province, it would significantly impact my own construction strategy.

I am currently playing a game on the Pacific map -- with vast distances -- and it would be nice to get a definitive answer from knowledgeable players or game operators.
    • Well, that's what I thought too, until I started playing a game on the Pacific map. If the "distance to capital," as measured in fractional days, does not change based on infrastructure construction, then there are some VERY inconsistent distances listed -- adjoining provinces seem to have significant differences that cannot be explained by actual distance from the capital.

I'm ready to start plotting all of the stated "distances to capital" to identify more of these perceived inconsistencies. I have found any number of problems -- and design choices -- in the Pacific game which are, well, problematic. For example, I have found at least five countries that do not have flagged capitals -- a significant problem for experienced players who rely on the 10% morale boost for capturing enemy capitals. This map does not look like it was ready to be released for play when it was. The apparent design choices also include the reduction of resources produced by certain provinces by 5 to 10% in comparison to the same resources on the European map -- that's especially galling given the vast distances of the Pacific map and their impact on morale and resource production in captured provinces at the long end of trans-oceanic invasions.